Penn State Spring Practice Award Winners

At the Blue-White game this weekend, Penn State names its Spring Practice winners. Senior linebacker Bani Gbadyu was presented the Jim O’Hora Award. Junior tackle Quinn Barham and senior wide receiver Brett Brackett were co-recipients of the Red Worrell Award. Junior linebacker Chris Colasanti and junior tight end Andrew Szczerba were recognized as co-recipients of the Frank Patrick Total Commitment Memorial Award.

About the Awards
The defensive award is named in honor of Jim O’Hora, a long-time Penn State assistant coach who was a member of the coaching staff for 31 years. Loyalty and attitude especially characterized Jim O’Hora and has typified many of the previous winners, including Walker Lee Ashley, Andre Collins, Michael Haynes, Anthony Adams and last year’s winner, linebacker Mike Mauti (Mandeville, La). The O’Hora Award was first presented in 1977.

The Red Worrell Award is presented to the offensive player whose spring contribution is most worthy of special tribute. The prize was first presented in 1958 and is named in the honor of the late Red Worrell, a high school All-American from Centerville HS who was tragically electrocuted in an accident after an exceptional season on the 1957 Nittany Lion freshman team. Past Worrell Award winners include former assistant coach Fran Ganter, Lydell Mitchell, Kyle Brady, Bryant Johnson and last year’s winner wideout Graham Zug.

The Frank Patrick Memorial “Total Commitment” Award goes to junior class squad members who consistently follow through with their responsibilities in all facets of the football program and do so in exemplary manner. This includes academic pursuits, off-season preparation, in-season commitment, demeanor and community service. Patrick was a member of the Lions’ coaching staff from 1949-73.

Speak Your Mind